Traveling – it leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller – IBN Battuta

Kauai, like the big island is all about the activities. So many things to choose from. We had a sailing trip booked to sail past the Napali coast but when we rocked up they were not doing the coast that day as it was too rough. That was a bit disappointing, but we had had such a lovely day on Maui we figured it would work out ok anyway, and it did.

Sail the Napali Coast: Firstly, I have to say sea sick tablets really do work, because since I discovered them I have not been sea sick. Either that or I don’t get sea sick anymore (I never used to and then all of a sudden after getting sinus issues I started to get sea sick, but maybe it’s passed) I’m not willing to put it to the test on a full day outing though. And man I feel sorry for the people who go out on a day trip and are just green the whole time. And this trip had its fair share of unwell people. They pay quite a bit (re: I’m cheap) for the pleasure of feeling like death all day.

I’m going to say the trip was … ok.. see now that I have had some sensational day sailing trips (Maui and Miss Faith and I went whale watching last year and that was amazing) I’ve become a sailing day trip snob as well. Lol. The boat was nice, the food was ok, the crew were alright, I don’t remember getting any booze (that’s probably the issue right there) and the snorkeling was fine (saw some turtles). Unfortunately the weather at the start was not great but it cleared up nicely for the return trip. That made the trip a little miserable at the start and because the trip is really centered around seeing that incredible coast line, when you go the other way it just isn’t as pretty. In addition, there were quite a few sick people and I felt the crew were really not very attentive to them. They did not offer anything other than a sick bag. No advice like “look at the horizon” or don’t sit inside, giving people ice for the back of their necks. Just nothing. One fellow was just so green eventually I went in and asked for a cold cloth. The captain and crew member seemed almost annoyed . They gave me a bag of ice and I told a fellow whose girl friend was really sick to ask for one as well. Both people were really grateful for that as it does help a little.

I will credit the company that when you arrive to sign in they are straight up. We are not going to Napali and you do not have to come today if you don’t want to. The forecast looks like we will not be doing Napali coast for at least 3 days. Up to you. So thats really good. You can opt out. Personally, for the money, I would recommend you opt out and go and spend it on a doors off helicopter ride.

Don’t get me wrong it was a lovely day, just not sailing along the Napali coast lovely. So …do opt out if you are not going to be able to sail the Napali Coast.

Waimea Canyon: They call it the Grand Canyon of Hawaii. And fair enough too. I mean all in all it is a very grand canyon.

I don’t think this can be missed if your in the neighborhood. Just breathtaking views.

Tubing through the old plantation:

This was a super fun activity. The guides were really great. Young guys doing a fantastic job keeping people entertained and included.

The water was freezing cold but it is not so cold that it’s not enjoyable. It is very enjoyable.

Chicken in a barrel:

You can try so many beers. You get a little wrist band that you tap on the beer that you want, pour as much as you like. There is like a dozen beers and wine too. It wasn’t cheap though but still a little fun and the beers were delicious.

~ by summontherun on December 26, 2019.

3 Responses to “Traveling – it leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller – IBN Battuta”

  1. Great to read Summ. How long you there for?

    • I’m actually in Bali. I am the worst blogger ever. This was meat to be posted last year lol. Just when I opened the app to start writing for this trip I posted this. Hope you are well. Xx

  2. I am. Are you enjoying Bali

Leave a comment